Reverse Homesickness

First of all, I have not made a post since language camp. I am seriously the worst blogger probably in all of CBYX history. I sincerely do apologize for not updating, and I will greatly regret it later when I am wishing that I had some sort of documentation for my time in Germany. I was so busy the entire year, and whenever I did have a break, I was too tired to get around to making a blog post.
I got home on the 14th of June. After 3 long flights and luggage lost in D.C, I have made it safely home. The humidity hit me hard, immediately as I stepped off of the plane. Welcome to Mississippi. 
My first week back here was great. Seeing everyone again and telling all of my stories. But now I am incredibly homesick, for Germany. I miss my friends and host family and the life I had there. I miss them all so much. I miss the city I lived in, Mainz. I miss everything. I never thought I would have such a homesickness for Germany.
Currently, I’m just trying to get back into the swing of things. I’ve got my job back and I start on Sunday, I am getting involved in sports and hanging out with all of my friends. I’ve started some college applications and I’m looking forward to my senior year. Everything is going well here. But my heart still longs for my second home far away.

Leave a comment