12 more days- is this real?

Only 12 more days until I depart for D.C!
I know that 12 days isn’t long until I leave to go to Germany for a year, but it feels like 12 days will be a lifetime. Furthermore, it also still seems so surreal.
I’ve thought about it a lot, and I just can’t seem to figure out why it seems so surreal. The closest conclusion I’ve come to is that I have never lived in Germany before so I can’t even imagine what it will be like and what to expect.
It also seems like all of the other finalists have come to the terms with the fact that they are going to be gone away for a year, and so they are more nervous. I am still stuck in that feeling I got when I found out that I got accepted (maybe not that bad).
Since I have quit my job, the days seem to be going by extra slow. I thought that I would want this next week and a half to myself, but I find myself pacing around and getting anxious if I am not busy. I want to pack, but if I do now then I won’t have anything to do when my pre-departure date is closer, and I will surely be more anxious then. I’ve decided that I will start packing on Monday the 4th (I leave on Thursday, the 8th). That is so long from now!
I’ve been trying to think of things to do to keep me busy. I want to hang out with some of my friends but most of them are at band camp. I guess it is a good time to start learning my German.

Leave a comment